Primary School Curriculum

No items found.

In 1999, a new revised Curriculum was introduced into Irish Primary Schools. A new Primary Language Curriculum was introduced in 2019. The Primary School Curriculum consists of 6 Curriculum areas and these are further divided into 11 subjects.  Your child will be learning in the following areas and subjects:

  • Language:  Gaeilge & English
  • Mathematics: Mathematics
  • Social, Environmental & Scientific Education (S.E.S.E): History, Geography & Science.
  • Arts Education: Music, Visual Arts and Drama
  • Physical Education (P.E): Physical Education
  • Social, Personal and Health Education (S.P.H.E): Social, Personal  and Health Education

Religious Knowledge is taught daily.  All classes follow the Grow in Love series.  Parents are asked to follow this religious programme from the child’s book and provide help when necessary.

There are guidelines on the amount of time to be allocated to each curriculum area.  The Curriculum aims to ensure that all children are provided with learning opportunities that recognise and celebrate their uniqueness, develop their full potential and prepare them to meet the challenge of the 21st Century. The focus is on the child as a learner.

The Curriculum aims to foster the development of key skills in communication, problem solving, critical thinking, investigation and interaction.  It is also the aim of the Curriculum to ensure that children’s experience of school will lead them to value and enjoy learning as a life long process.

Functional literacy, numeracy, and the ability to articulate well are stressed.  It encourages greater attention to be given to children with Special Educational needs; the needs of gifted children are also stressed.


No items found.